Mazda 6 Forums banner

Detailing your Mazda: a Step-by-Step Process

18K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  twobig86 
#1 · (Edited)
So I've been told from fellow 6club members I need to put my process here on the internetz.

A little about me - I am a self taught detailer, what I have learned is from other detailers from other forums years ago, experimenting on my own vehicles, and practice, practice, practice. I do detail cars as extra income when I have time and I have a small, but continuous client base. Some people who read my how-to may not agree with some of my processes, and that's fine - there are 72 ways to skin a cat. I figured I'd just throw this up for people interested in getting better at detailing their Mazda.

**DISCLAIMER - I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE YOU MAY CAUSE TO A VEHICLE AFTER READING THIS HOW-TO**

(just have to put that there - because today's world is crazy)

SO today's victim is my 2012 Mazda 3s Touring Hatch. It has been a long winter and definitely needs to be detailed.

INTERIOR

Products Used:
-Woolite 'extra dark care'
-303 Aerospace protectant
-Invisible Glass
-Griot's Leather Care
-upholstery extractor (I use an old Hoover carpet shampooer with the auto attachment)
-tire brush
-soft tooth brush
-detail brush
-Micro Fiber towels

1) Take a plastic bag and remove all your stuff from the door cubbies, center console, trunk, and glove box. TRUST me, if you're going to detail your car right - just take everything out and go through it later!!

2) Vacuum the loose dirt off the carpet and seats and don't forget the trunk.

3) In a clean bucket mix a 6:1 ratio of the water/woolite. The thing I love about this is it can be used on cloth, leather, plastic - pretty much everything in the interior and it smells great :D