Long time car guy, first time M6 GTR owner. - Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum
User Tag List

4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2018, 05:17 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Groans: 1
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Long time car guy, first time M6 GTR owner.

Here's the typical "hi everybody, i'm a noob and don't know how to use the search function so answer all these questions" thread..... Or is it?

Just picked up the GTR last weekend and already put about 8 hours into paint correction, prep and protection. It was quite unexpected how much residue the plastic wrap leaves and also the quantity of grime from transit. This coming from somebody who apprenticed for 3 years in detailing and restoration of exotics and classics.

Had a Mazdaspeed3 and was a member of MazdasNW back in 2007 so i'm not new to Mazda. But that was sold to build up a 500+ whp Evo for short track duty. The itch for speed (and the NW Evo community) was wearing thin, so I got rid of it to get back into pre-1960's hot rods.

Feel free to ask about detailing chemicals used or suggestions if you're curious. Happy to dispense with getting you to buy nice car care products!

Mazda 6:

Minty fresh interior. A very rare color combination in the Northwest. 1 of 2 red on parchment GTR's sold in WA.

One of the project cars: 1963 Ford Thunderbird during motor swap:

The "better" T-bird, and my driver. 1961 numbers matching with a 390 I built by hand

Another project car, 1941 Super Deluxe with built flathead V8

Custom framed bicycle to match with the '63 Thunderbird

'53 Club Coupe and '67 Fairlane with a monsterous 7.2 ltr V8 putting out over 700 whp
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-28-2018, 05:23 PM Thread Starter

Reserved spot for dumping update pics as the Mazda 6 moves along. It has a date this weekend for clear bra and window tint.

Cleaned up!