Learners License

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
03 Mazda 6 A/C issue

Hello,

I have a 03 Mazda 6 with A/C issues. This was my ex-wife's car and my daughter inherited it from her once she became of driving age. The ex says the AC hasn't worked well in years. Now the AC unit had a leaking suction hose (aluminum connector at the compressor was rubbing on the frame and sprung a hole) and no AC at all.

I ordered and replaced the suction hose. I pulled a vacuum to 100 microns and charged the unit by weight (1.1 lbs). I'm a refrigeration engineer so I know the charge is right and the compressor runs.

The AC will not get below 57 F at the drivers far left vent and the temps get warmer as you go from drivers side to passenger side (not much but noticeable).

Interesting enough, the blower motor was making a hell of a racket so I dropped it and and found an acorn in the blower wheel, I removed it and replaced the cabin air filter for good measure. I suspect the heater core is mixing with the AC air causing the temp to no get cold enough but I'm not very savvy on automotive ac units. I did stick my hand up through the blower hole and toward the center console to see if I could feel the evaporator but instead something burned the hell out of my finger, very hot. I think the source of this heat is my culprit.

Does anyone have any idea what I may have touched or what may be my issue? Again, most posts/replies have said to add refrigerant. I'm confident if the nomenclature that states 1.1 lb is correct it isn't a refrigerant issue.

This car has 200,000+ miles with the standard AC knobs, nothing fancy just a hot/cold selector and no dual climate control.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-05-2016, 10:18 AM

Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Groans: 19
Groaned at 2 Times in 2 Posts
Garage