Pros and cons of the 2.5L engine vs. 3.7 - Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-20-2014, 10:30 PM Thread Starter
Learners License

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pros and cons of the 2.5L engine vs. 3.7

Hi all, newbie here and looking to buy a 2nd gen Mazda6. How are the 2.5L engines as far as reliability. Any common problems with these? How about the intake gaskets and any certain mileage that these are likely to go to pot? Trying to decide which engine to go with and unsure at this point. I drive mostly highway miles about 30 miles one way to work. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-21-2014, 02:17 AM

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Groans: 45
Groaned at 7 Times in 5 Posts
3.7 has great torque. 6 speed auto keeps the mpg reasonable for highway driving. The only real maintenance item aside from basic oil changes and fluid checks are the spark plugs at 100k. This engine can go x00,000 miles reliably.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2009 Mazda 6s GT - Rotora BBK, KSport coilovers, 19" TSW, Injen CAI, Addco RSB, AWR rmm |
2012 Genesis Coupe Turbo
- 2012 Hyundai Coupe 2.0T - ARK, DEPO, HKS, RMR, Prodigy, Sequence, SFR, Stillen, TXS, Varrstoen |

Plasti dip is for tool handles.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-22-2014, 11:43 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)