parking brakes barely works! - Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum
Go Back   Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum > Technical / Performance / Model > Mazda 6 1st Generation (2002-2008) > Suspension / Brakes
New User? Register
Mazda6Club.com is the premier Mazda 6 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2011, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Learners License

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default parking brakes barely works!

newbie here, can somebody help me, i got a 2003 mazda 6i, my parking brakes barely works, i can even go 60mph and literally yank my parking brakes all the way up and nothing will happen, i can feel that its working because the car is decelerating, but very very slow, so i guess there are no cable that snapped, beacause it still works, just barely. somebody told me that i can adjust it by turning the nut that can be found under the center armrest, i found it, but the problem is the nut is already turned all the way into the bolt, so it cannot be adjusted any further. the brake pads has been replaced last month, i dont know if theres a connection with that, and the brake system is all oem, nothing modified. what do you think? thanks in advance,

Last edited by ghostrider85; 03-22-2011 at 02:03 AM.
ghostrider85 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2011, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
banana boat.

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Groans: 3
Groaned at 50 Times in 46 Posts

how is your brake fluid?

ripping the ebrake at 60 is dangerous and stupid.
flipper66 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Learners License