Mazda 6 Forums banner

Sudden terrible rear wheel hop

4K views 9 replies 3 participants last post by  jamitt 
#1 ·
I'm now experiencing terrible rear wheel hop when driving over rough or bumpy roads. No unusual noises from the rear, but the rear also feels much stiffer than usual. Seems to be worse from the left rear. Really bad when turning on bumpy roads but even have hop when driving straight on bumpy roads. Is this bad rear shocks, differential mount, or something else?

(Tire pressure is 38psi)

Any ideas?

2006 SP6 91k miles, stock suspension

Thanks.

#4 ·
Yes, I will check it all out this weekend.

BTW, 38 PSI is the recommended tire pressure and what I have been using since 2006.

#3 ·
I'm going to vote for a blown shock, and at your mileage I'd consider replacing all four corners. If you're not going all fancy suspension, then Tokico Blues (~$400) are a good budget replacement, with Bilstein HD's (~$500) being next up and not too much more money.

I'd encourage getting the back end up in the air & tires off so you can take a really good look around to be sure everything is in good shape and make your plans from there.

Reactions: jamitt
#5 ·
Yes, will do. Need to check the brakes pads anyway and paint (again!) the rusting rotor hubs, so won't be a wasted effort.

I have always been a Bilstein fan, but sometimes they are too stiff. How do the HDs compare to the stock shocks?

Thanks.

#6 ·
Good to know, didn't know the ms6 required that much psi.

Billstein HD's are a great handling shock, but IMO way too stiff for a DD. That's on my v6 tho, I've heard good things from a buddy who ran them on his ms6, but it was a purely track vehicle. Maybe they're better with the increased weight of the speed. They're rocks in the rear of my 05 sedan tho.

#7 ·
The stock Mazdaspeed custom valved KYB's are really a great shock. We've never found a perfect match out in the wild. The Tokico is a touch softer than stock, the Bilstein a touch stiffer.