Mazda 6 Forums banner

Swirl Marks!!

5K views 19 replies 4 participants last post by  SonicNutrition 
#1 ·
I bought a brand new grey 14 M6 a month ago. This is my first brand new car, so I'm new to how to detail a car. I didn't know about swirl marks until a couple weeks ago. My problem is that right before I bought my car I asked the dealer to wash it, because it was so dirty (big mistake). I then realized a couple weeks afterwards that their car washing service brushed the dirt to create swirl marks. I'm not too worried about swirl marks, because I know it's inevitable, but I would like to do as much as I can to take care of my car, but it's already covered in swirl marks. I thought about going to a car detailer to get it fixed, but the only one in my town said, "if we were to polish your car it would just add more swirl marks". I thought that polishing a car evens out the surface? So, which one is it? Also, are swirl marks that noticeable on grey, or is it just me? And if I were to buff out the swirls by hand would it be effective?

#2 · (Edited)
Sadly, most dealer "detailing" services do more harm than good.

If thats what your local detail shop said to you, STAY AWAY!! A professional detailer should be able to easily remove the marks.

They can likely be removed by polishing the car by hand, but machine polishing with a dual-action polisher is much faster. A certain level of expertise is required to do it properly though. If you arent looking to invest a few hundred into supplies to get a machine & diy, then by hand is your best bet.

Start by washing your car & drying it.

Get yourself a clay bar kit & clay the entire car following the wash.

Next you will need a mild polish. I suggest Meguiars Ultimate polish. Work small sections at a time, no more than 18"x18". Work the polish in with a foam applicator (do not work it until it dries as that can induce scratches), and buff out with a microfiber towel, overlapping each section with the previous one.