Dealer recommended service at 5K miles? - Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum
Go Back   Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum > Technical / Performance / Model > Mazda 6 2nd Generation (2009-2012) > Engine / Drivetrain
New User? Register
Mazda6Club.com is the premier Mazda 6 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2010, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Learners License

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dealer recommended service at 5K miles?

Hi,

I am a newbie to cars and Mazda6 is the first car that I bought.

My 6 has 4500 miles now. The dealer recommends a 5,000 Mile Service Maintenance for a charge of $50 + tax. I don't know what exactly the service involves. When I called for an appointment and asked for details, all I heard was an oil change and tire rotation. There may be others but I think these two are the main things. I just want to know what maintenance I should do and whether $50 is a fair price. What do you think?

Thanks!
sonicking is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-03-2010, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Learners License

Groans: 5

Mazda recommends oil changes, lubes and tire rotation about every 7,500 miles.
'nuf said.
Deco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2010, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Learners License

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deco View Post
Mazda recommends oil changes, lubes and tire rotation about every 7,500 miles.
'nuf said.
So you would not say it is necessary to follow the dealer's recommendation?
Old 04-03-2010, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Groans: 3
Groaned at 5 Times in 5 Posts

Sonic,