Mazda 6 Forums banner

2.5l oil filter

32K views 26 replies 16 participants last post by  Roger L 
#1 ·
Do the new 2.5l engines have canister oil filters or spin-on?
I'm curious if Mazda went back to spin-on, since there were so many issues with the 2.3 canisters being cracked by crap mechanics, etc.

#2 ·
QUOTE (kikboxr1 @ Feb 7 2009, 08:55 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1516617
Do the new 2.5l engines have canister oil filters or spin-on?
I'm curious if Mazda went back to spin-on, since there were so many issues with the 2.3 canisters being cracked by crap mechanics, etc.[/b]

I'm getting the oil changed Fri.I'll let you know...............

#4 ·
I've no experience with Mazda's canister filter on my 2.5L 4 cyl. , and haven't yet crawled under to examine it. Before I change the filter, does anyone have thoughts about what to look for / be careful of etc.??

Thanks

#5 ·
eh. the 3.7 V6 has a easy to get to spin off. I changed the oil w/o jacking the car or lifting it in anyway

#6 ·
QUOTE (Scorpion @ Apr 8 2009, 12:07 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1544332
I've no experience with Mazda's canister filter on my 2.5L 4 cyl. , and haven't yet crawled under to examine it. Before I change the filter, does anyone have thoughts about what to look for / be careful of etc.??

Thanks[/b]
The drain plug takes a 13mm wrench/socket. The filter is the spin off and not a can. The wrench can be found here - http://www.mazdaparts.org/mazda-oil-filter-wrench.html. I used the strap type wrench, which was awkward, but did work. There is a 'plug' at the base of the spin off that can be opened with an allen/hex wrench. When you get the black spin off 'cap' completely off, be prepared for a splash of oil to come with it. According to the manual, the 2.5 takes 5.3 quarts of oil when the filter is also changed. I put in 5 quarts and that is right at the top of the upper line on the dipstick and that was after running the engine to circulate the oil.

#8 ·