2006 Mazda 6 2.0 143 Diesel Buying Advice - Mazda 6 Forums : Mazda 6 Forum / Mazda Atenza Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Learners License

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
2006 Mazda 6 2.0 143 Diesel Buying Advice

Hello everyone,

I've just joined up to the forum and I've done some digging around on the mazda diesels. Honestly im on the fence as I've been offered a Mazda 6 143 Diesel with 90K miles for around 2800 by my friendly mechanic. My dad and I bought our cars from him and they've been excellent and reliable, he takes care of his cars very well.

Well being a student i've been driving my citroen xsara 1.4 petrol for close to 2 years now and while ive enjoyed it for the time ive had it, I've saved up enough to afford a change.

Well, he has the mazda for sale and to be honest ive fallen for it. Its a black facelift TS spec and for a diesel im impressed with its performance and actually how quiet it is.

Now im quite into my cars and naturally did research on it and am aware of the potential issues with the engine but understand the majority is due to the DPF. Most of my journeys are town mainly to uni and back with about 45 mins drive to work on the weekends.

The cars been fully serviced and had the cambelt and intercooler changed, new tyres and only been run on mazda dpf oil - it is in immaculate condition.

So.. my questions are:

a) Can any of you advise me on whether i should buy it or steer clear?..

b) I would plan on removing the dpf for peace of mind (including the ecu calibration) so would this eliminate the issues surrounding the oil levels and dpf related matters? Is there any other potential issues to be concerned with?

I'm quite mechanically minded and enjoy getting my hands dirty lol, I'm just in doubt over putting money into it if its unlikely to last at least 3 years.